Yeah, it’s a bit immature to laugh when a hot dog is referred to as a wiener. But add the word tornado, and I don’t think too many adults could pass without at least a chuckle:

16009795_10154895755384813_1657403413_o

Despite its unfortunate nomenclature, Tornado Wiener Bread appears to be quite popular, because there’s only one left, barely visible at the top. (I wasn’t thinking ahead when I took this picture.)

Somewhat ironically, they did use the right version of the word wiener. According to Merriam-Websterweiner is a less common variant.

Still, if I had been localizing this, I probably would have gone with Tornado Hot Dog Bread. Maybe I’m too in touch with my inner 12-year-old boy, but it’s best to avoid using the word wiener (and sometimes even sausage) when there are perfectly good alternatives.

